Guidebook: Kenwood - The Iveagh Bequest
Product Code: 19312
Order by 3pm for next day deliveryexc. Bank Holidays & Weekends
International Delivery Availablefrom £14.99
A contribution from the sale of this product helps us to secure this spectacular and unique heritage for future generations to enjoy.
Kenwood House is a striking neoclassical villa on the edge of Hampstead Heath. The house was bought in 1754 by William Murray, a distinguished lawyer, who became Lord Chief Justice in 1756. He commissioned the famous architect Robert Adam to expand the original house and create a suite of rooms for entertaining. The library at Kenwood is widely acknowledged to be one of Adam's finest interiors.
Today, the house contains an outstanding collection of Old Master paintings, donated by Edward Cecil Guinness, 1st Earl of Iveagh, who bequeathed the house and part of his collection to the nation in 1927. The house has recently been restored both inside and out. The original colour schemes have been reinstated in the Adam rooms, allowing visitors to appreciate the collection in a more authentic 18th Century setting.
This brand new guidebook sheds light on Kenwood's history and also provides a tour of the house and its collection. It is illustrated with specially commissioned photography, three brand new reconstruction drawings showing the development of the house, new phased plans and historical images.
Published: March 2014
Size: 285mm x 210 mm (paperback)
Author: Laura Houliston and Susan Jenkins
ISBN: 978 1848 022287